hozier almost sweet music single review

Hozier Premiers “Almost (Sweet Music)” Song; Announces New Album Due in March 2019

Andrew Hozier-Byrne has another album coming in March. His second album, called ‘Wasteland, Baby!,’ is his first full-length record in four-and-a-half years. Today we have another tune from the heartfelt Irish artist called “Almost (Sweet Music).”

Hozier’s 2019 album announcement comes after his massive debut success self-titled album released in September 2014. The “Take Me To Church” led album managed to rank #2 in US music charts and #3 on UK, New Zealand and Australina charts. The album has sold over a million copies world wide since.

Hozier released an entire music video to announce the new song and the upcoming album. In the video, we see Hozier writing the lyrics to the new single “Almost (Sweet Music)” along with the tracklist and the album release date.

The new song is a homage to some of the greatest musicians before Hozier, who have inspired generations and himself personally. Throughout the song, many Jazz songs are referenced in their original lyrics.

Listen to “Almost (Sweet Music) by Hozier

Some of the songs referenced in Hozier’s new track are; “Stella by Starlight” by Victor Young (1994), “Prelude to a Kiss” by Duke Ellington (1938), “Night and Day” by Ella Fitzgerald and Billie Holiday from 1995.

Hozier’s track is themed off of “Slow Swing and Sweet Jazz Music” by Jelly Roll Morton. “My Foolish Heart” is a popular Jazz song by Victor Young and Ned Washington.

“Almost (Sweet Music”) continues to reminesce some of the late great names in Jazz music such as; “Smoke Rings” and “Paper Doll” by The Mills Brothers, “The Very Thought Of You” and “Am I Blue” by Billie Holiday, “A Love Supreme” by John Coltrane and “I Get Along Without You Very Well” by Chet Baker. Hozier also extends a nod to the shortfilm ‘Let’s Get Lost’ based on the iconic Jazz trumpeteer-Chet Baker.

The new album is due on March 1, 2019.

Full Track List of ‘Wasteland, Baby!’

  1. Nina Cried Power (featuring Mavis Staples)
  2. Almost (Sweet Music)
  3. Movement
  4. No Plan
  5. Nobody
  6. To Noise Making (Sing)
  7. As It Was
  8. Shrike
  9. Talk
  10. Be
  11. Dinner & Diatribes
  12. Would That I
  13. Sunlight
  14. Wasteland, Baby!

Don’t forget to drop in your thoughts about this new music and the upcoming album by Hozier. What are your expectations for this album?

Full Lyrics to “Almost (Sweet Music)” by Hozier

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.