rihanna sledgehammer review star trek beyond movie soundtrack

Rihanna Releases “Sledgehammer” from ‘Star Trek Beyond’ Movie Soundtrack (Review)

The Star Trek: Beyond movie trailer was released today and it’s as epic as it can get. For the music community, the trailer gave a peek at a new track by Rihanna. “Sledgehammer” is featured in the newly released Start Trek Beyond trailer and you can watch it below.

Star Trek Beyond movie is set to hit the theaters on 22 July, 2016.

Among utter chaos and destruction we hear Rihanna screaming about breaking and falling apart.

Download “Sledgehammer” Single on iTunes / Amazon

Download ‘Star Trek Beyond’ Soundtrack Album on iTunes / Amazon

Underneath the powerful vocals delivered by Rihanna, you may notice the styles of another artist in the lyrics to “Sledgehammer.” The lyrics to the song have been written by Sia. If Sia had sung the song, I wouldn’t imagine it being much different than to Rihanna’s. Let us know what you think.

I hit a wall, I never felt so low, so low
Like a waterfall, my tears dropped to the floor (the floor…)
They left a swimming pool of salted crimes, crimes
(Ohh) what could I do to change your mind?

I’m bracing for the pain and I am letting go
I’m using all my strength to get out of this hole

I hit a wall, I thought that I would hurt myself

Oh I was sure, your words would leave me unconscious
And on the floor I’d be lying cold, lifeless
But I hit a wall, I hit ’em all, watch the fall

Rihanna speaks about a relationship that’s falling apart. The singer says she hit a wall-resembling a barrier in their relationship. Maybe he cheated on her. That made her feel so low and she couldn’t stop crying. There’s nothing she can do to ease the pain, but only to embrace the pain and let everything go.

Listen to the full song “Sledgehammer” on Spotify below

You’re just another brick and I’m a sledgehammer…
You’re just another brick and I’m a sledgehammer…

In the end, he was just another brick (made out of clay and one small component of a massive structure) and she is trying to become a strong weapon. She wants to break away from the brick in her path.

Yeah I hit a wall, I prayed that I would make it through (make it through)
I can’t survive a life that’s without you, that’s without you, yeah
And I will rise up from the ashes now, the ashes now
Oh the sparrow flies with just the crumbs of loving spilled, yeah

After the obvious heartbreaks it’s time to dust yourself and get yourself back up. It’s the cycle of life. Once we thought we can’t live without that other special person, but sooner or later you realize you’re just more stronger without them. People come and go, you just get more stronger. She is ready to get up from the ashes of her self destruction. The bird is a metaphor for the singer, who flies away from the disaster with just crumbs or bits and pieces of what once was love.

We are excited to hear the rest of the soundtrack, which will be released on July 29th. Until then enjoy the tracklisting below.

1. Logo And Prosper
2. Thank Your Lucky Star Date
3. Night On The Yorktown
4. The Dance Of The Nebula
5. A Swarm Reception
6. Hitting The Saucer A Little Hard
7. Jaylah Damage
8. In Artifacts As In Life
9. Franklin, My Dear
10. A Lesson In Vulcan Mineralogy
11. MotorCycles Of Relief
12. Mocking Jaylah
13. Crash Decisions
14. Krall-y Krall-y Oxen Free
15. Shutdown Happens
16. Cater-Krall In Zero G
17. Par-tay For The Course
18. Star Trek Main Theme

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.