taylor swift reputation album track list full review lyrics songs

Taylor Swift – Don’t Blame Me (Lyrics Review and Song Meaning)

“Don’t Blame Me” is the fourth song off of Taylor Swift’s sixth studio album ‘Reputation.’ The song and the music has an uncanny resemblance to “Take Me to Church” by Hozier. The song has a romantic theme, but has a dark and a ominous sound to it.

Heavy use of synth-pop, trap and electro-pop music is present in “Don’t Blame Me” song. The song is from Taylor to her lover, asking him to do ‘love’ right, if not, asking to get out of her life.

Lyrics for “Don’t Blame Me” by Taylor Swift

Buy ‘Reputation’ Album on iTunes and Amazon

Although lyrics to this song are plain and straightforward, it would be beneficial to see some cleverly hidden hints at her exes.

Lyrics Review an Song Meaning of “Don’t Blame Me”

Taylor Swift starts off the song by saying she is a sucker for love. She says love has made her crazy and made her do crazy things. Maybe she is regretting some of the relationships she had before current boyfriend Joe Alwyn.

She says she is so addicted to her boyfriend that it looks like a sin and she asks forgiveness from God. Love is her metaphorical drug.

In verse one, Taylor Swift admits to her dating spree:

I’ve been breakin’ hearts a long time
And toyin’ with them older guys

She could be talking about her relationship with Tom Hiddleston, who is 9 years elder to Taylor, or Calvin Harris who is 5 years elder to her or even Jake Gyllenhaal who is 9 years elder to her. She says it was all for her fun.

Taylor Swift says she is prepared to commit to this relationship; that she would cross some lines (like the age?) and she would sacrifice her sanity for this relationship to work. And what she expects from him in return is not mentioned in the song.

And baby, for you, I would fall from grace
Just to touch your face
If you walk away
I’d beg you on my knees to stay

Taylor Swift goes to the extremes to say that she would beg on her knees for him to stay with him. This is in contrast to what she was saying about love in “I Did Something Bad” from ‘Reputation’ album itself. Is it that she is willing to sacrifice everything for the right person and play the bad boys? You let us know in the comments.

“I Did Something Bad” is not your typical clubbing-dancing trap song. This is the kind you put on your headphones and chill in a rainy evening.

From Pop to Trap, Taylor Swift is going through some cross-genre musical transcendence in ‘Reputation’ album.

Do you have different interpretations of the song? Let us know in the comments below and share this article with other Swifties.

Check out more lyrics reviews of ‘Reputation’ album below

1. …Ready For It?
2. End Game (featuring Ed Sheeran and Future)
3. I Did Something Bad
4. Dont Blame Me
5. Delicate
6. Look What You Made Me Do
7. So It Goes…
8. Gorgeous
9. Getaway Car
10. King of My Heart
11. Dancing With Our Hands Tied
12. Dress
13. This Is Why We Can’t Have Nice Things
14. Call It What You Want
15. New Year’s Day

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.