bob dylan shadows in the night album

Bob Dylan Unveils Musical Genius in ‘Shadows in the Night’ Album

One of the most celebrated and talented musical legends of all time, Bob Dylan, has released his 36th studio album titled ‘Shadows in the Night‘. This album, released on February 3, 2015 is unlike any album the legend has released before. ‘Shadows in the Night’ consist of covers of 10 of the classic songs of the musical world. Bob Dylan goes on to cover Frank Sinatra, Billie Holiday, Rascal Flatts and more.

If you are worried about how great this album is, read what Bob Dylan had to say about recording ‘Shadows in the Night’ album.

“It was a real privilege to make this album. I’ve wanted to do something like this for a long time but was never brave enough to approach 30-piece complicated arrangements and refine them down for a 5-piece band. That’s the key to all these performances. We knew these songs extremely well. It was all done live. Maybe one or two takes. No overdubbing. No vocal booths. No headphones. No separate tracking, and, for the most part, mixed as it was recorded. I don’t see myself as covering these songs in any way. They’ve been covered enough. Buried, as a matter a fact. What me and my band are basically doing is uncovering them. Lifting them out of the grave and bringing them into the light of day.”

bob dylan shadows in the night album art
Bob Dylan – ‘Shadows in the Night’ Album artwork

Tracklist of ‘Shadows in the Night’ by Bob Dylan

01) I’m A Fool To Want You

02) The Night We Called It A Day

03) Stay With Me

04) Autumn Leaves

05) Why Try to Change Me Now

06) Some Enchanted Evening

07) Full Moon and Empty Arms

08) Where Are You?

09) What I’ll Do

10) That Lucky Old Sun

All of the tracks are classics from the past and Bob Dylan tries to bring them back to life (not that they were necessarily dead) with this new album effort. And he has succeeded.

Buy Bob Dylan’s ‘Shadows in the Night’ Album on iTunes / Amazon

Bob Dylan’s latest album is the world’s second best selling album as of last week, selling over 118,000 copies, only second to Taylor Swift’s ‘1989’ (124,000 copies).

Bob Dylan, at the age of 73, shows amazing vocal talents via this album. Almost all the reviews have praised the album for Bob Dylan’s unique musical genius and artistry he brings out through this album.

It is true that some of the songs are pure genius on it’s own accord. Bod Dylan tries to pull out something else in covering these songs on ‘Shadows in the Night’. He addresses the soul of music–that seems to be quite lost in modern songs.

Listen to “That Lucky Old Sun” Cover by Bob Dylan from ‘Shadows in the Night’

With that, we leave you off to buy this masterpiece of an album and enjoy the best of the best music from the history of music delivered by a classic voice.

If you have already listened to this album, do leave us with a comment on your thoughts about the album or a specific track.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.