the weeknd after hours

The Weeknd Announces ‘After Hours’ Album (Tracklist, Cover, Review & Release Date)

After releasing two brand new songs, The Weeknd has finally opted to reveal the title of his fourth studio album. In a 48-second video clip posted on Twitter, The Weeknd announced the 2020 album title ‘After Hours.’ This project follows Abel’s 2016 album ‘Starboy.’

Album Artwork

after hours the weeknd
‘After Hours’ Album Artwork (Image: Genius)

The artwork for the album shows Abel bloody and beaten. He seems to have broken his nose as blood pours out from the nose and onto his teeth as well. But he is smiling.

‘After Hours’ Album Tracklist

  1. Alone Again
  2. Too Late
  3. Hardest To Love
  4. Scared To Live
  5. Snowchild
  6. Escape From LA
  7. Heartless
  8. Faith
  9. Blinding Lights
  10. In Your Eyes
  11. Save Your Tears
  12. Repeat After Me (Interlude)
  13. After Hours
  14. Until I Bleed Out

‘After Hours’ Album Review

Many of the songs on the album follow a familiar theme of drugs, sex, and money for The Weeknd. He explored more and more into the darkest corners of his head on these tracks, even going so far as to admit that he might overdose from substance abuse anytime.

On songs such as “Too Late” and “Hardest To Love,” The Weeknd beats himself up over the failed romances in his past. He is heard admitting to mistakes, mostly with regards to his emotional unavailability, in these relationships causing them to fall apart.

The Weeknd also seems to despise the city of Los Angeles. He blames the city for all the temptations that make him a failure at relationships. He sings about this in “Escape From LA” and references the same in “Too Late.”

Among the many songs that reference to his former relationships, two ex-girlfriends seemed to have run through Abel’s mind when writing these songs. American model Bella Hadid and singer Selena Gomez are the two exes who seem to be referenced on different songs.

On a relatively positive note, the final song of the album “Until I Bleed Out” sees the protagonist making a resolution to cut out drugs from his life. However, the same song suggests that he is fed up with ‘love’ as well. He says no to both of them.

Album Release Date

The Weeknd announced the album release date to be March 20, 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.