halsey manic album review

Halsey Announces ‘Manic’ Album (Tracklist, Release Date, Cover & More)

Ashley Nicolette Frangipane AKA Halsey on stage is on to her third studio album and she has made a global name for herself in this short time. Following 2015’s ‘Badlands’ and 2017’s ‘Hopeless Fountain Kingdom,’ Halsey is all set to drop the third instalment of her discography, ‘Manic.’ Here’s all we know about the album.

‘Manic’ Singles Chronology

“Without Me” single released on October 14, 2018, was initially intended to be a stand-alone track without an album. The song peaked at #1 on Billboard Hot 100 and spent several weeks there. Later, Halsey decided to elevate it to the ‘lead single’ status of the album. On September 13, 2019, Halsey premiered the second single “Graveyard,” which was quickly followed by a promotional single “Clementine,” released on September 25, 2019, in celebration of her birthday on the same day. The third single off the album “SUGA’s Interlude” was released on December 6, 2019, with another promotional single “Finally // beautiful stranger.”

Inspiration for ‘Manic’ Album

The lead single “Without Me” had very strong strings towards Halsey’s ex-relationship with rapper G-Eazy. The singles that followed also had themes of ‘love and loss’ throughout. In a Tweet, Halsey said “Writing this album has been a lesson in forgiving myself. In being proud of myself and kind to myself despite how much this world is designed to make you hate yourself. I hope when it’s finally in your hands it brings you that same peace. It’s not a quiet peace. It’s a loud one.”

In another Tweet, replying to a fan, Halsey said that ‘Manic’ is nothing like her last album ‘Hopeless Fountain Kingdom.’ She used the phrase ‘total reinvention’ to describe the change between two albums.

Album Cover

In September 2019, Halsey revealed the album artwork for ‘Manic.’ It is a vibrant painting of Halsey’s face, portraying sad and baffling emotions. Halsey also said that she painted this portrait herself, a process that took her 7.5 hours. She released a hyper-speed version (3 minutes) of the same on YouTube.

‘Manic’ Album artwork by Halsey (Image: exclaim.ca)

‘Manic’ Album Tracklist

On December 3, 2019, Haley took to Twitter to reveal the complete tracklist of her upcoming album, and also to announce the release date. The video shows Halsey scribbling down the tracklist by hand, on what seems like a sketchpad.

  1. Ashley
  2. Clementine
  3. Graveyard
  4. You should be sad
  5. Forever… (Is a Long Time)
  6. Dominic’s Interlude (Ft. Dominic Fike)
  8. 3 AM
  9. Without Me
  10. Finally // Beautiful Stranger
  11. Alanis’ Interlude (Ft. Alanis Morissette)
  12. Killing Boys
  13. Suga’s Interlude (Ft. Suga (BTS))
  14. MORE
  15. Still Learning
  16. 929

Notable collaborations include ‘interludes’ with Dominic Fike, Suga of BTS and Alanis Morissette.

‘Manic’ Album Release Date

In the same Tweet that announced the complete album song list, Halsey also revealed the official release date of the album. After many speculations and back-and-forth shifting, the final release date is set to fall on January 17, 2020.

Buy ‘Manic’ Album by Halsey

‘Manic’ album is available on streaming platforms and to be purchased on Apple Music and Amazon.

Let us hear what you think about this brand new album by Halsey by leaving a comment below. Enjoyed the new music by Halsey so far?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.