selena gomez rare album review

Selena Gomez Announces ‘Rare’ Album (Tracklist, Release Date, Artwork & More)

On Thursday (Dec 12), Selena Gomez took to her social media to announce the title and reveal the tracklist of her upcoming third studio album, ‘Rare.’

“‪Can’t believe I’m revealing the art and title for my new album RARE,” captioned Selena Gomez on her Instagram post that included snippets from music videos from the album. In this sudden outburst of information, Selena Gomez also revealed the full tracklist and the release date of the album.

Inspiration Behind ‘Rare’ Album by Selena Gomez

So far, we have had the privilege of listening to two songs from the album; “Lose You to Love Me” and “Look at Her Now.” Both songs are about moving on from what seemed like disastrous relationships. Naturally, the most common prediction is that the two songs are about her ex-boyfriend Justin Bieber, who moved on from their relationship to marry Hailey Baldwin.

In the Instagram post, Selena also captioned “It’s the most honest music I’ve ever made and I can’t wait for you to hear my heart.” So we can expect more songs on the melancholy of the affairs of the heart.

Album Artwork

Selena Gomez previewed the album artwork in the same Instagram post. The image features Selena Gomez laying on a grey surface with a colourful t-shirt bearing the word ‘Rare,’ and everything else in grey-black-and-white.


Tracklist of ‘Rare’ Album

Selena Gomez also revealed the tracklist of the upcoming album in her Instagram post. The 13-track deluxe edition album features only two collaborations with rappers 6lack and Kid Cudi.

  1. Rare
  2. Look At Her Now
  3. Lose You to Love Me
  4. Dance Again
  5. Ring
  6. Vulnerable
  7. People You Know
  8. Let Me Get Me
  9. Crowded Room Ft. 6lack
  10. Kinda Crazy
  11. Fun
  12. Cut You Off
  13. A Sweeter Place Ft. Kid Cudi

As expected, the album contains many songs reflecting on heartbreak. It is also evident that some of these thoughts have been inspired by Selena’s own personal experiences. For example, in “Cut You Off,” Selena sings about a relationship which she had for 1,460 days to be precise.

Other songs such as “Lose You to Love Me,” “Look At Her Now,” “Dance Again” and “Cut You Off” sing about moving on. From who is a popular secret! But according to the lyrics, it seems as if she has come to a point where she realizes that dwelling on the past is no longer going to bear fruits. In the past decade, Selena Gomez had an on-again and off-again relationship with singer Justin Bieber. However, the two broke up for good in March 2018 and Justin Bieber soon got engaged to model Hailey Baldwin, shutting any window for a Jelena love story again.

Release Date

Selena Gomez announced the album to release on January 10, 2020.

Buy the Album

Pre-orders are open from December 12th and can be purchased on Apple Music and Amazon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.