billie eilish WHEN WE ALL FALL ASLEEP, WHERE DO WE GO? album review

Billie Eilish Announces Debut Studio Album ‘WHEN WE ALL FALL ASLEEP, WHERE DO WE GO?’ (Album Review, Artwork, Tracklist, Lyrics and More)

Since “ocean eyes” made Billie Eilish an overnight success in 2015 at the age of 14, we have been patiently waiting for the debut studio album by the now 17-year-old artist. Today, on January 20, 2019, Billie announced her debut studio album details. The title ‘WHEN WE ALL FALL ASLEEP, WHERE DO WE GO?’ itself tells us a lot about what is to come. The album announcement was made with the premiere of the first official single “bury a friend” with a music video. Be prepared for nightmares!!!

Album artwork for ‘WHEN WE ALL FALL ASLEEP, WHERE DO WE GO?’ by Billie Eilish (Image source: consequencesofsound)

The album artwork itself is a horror-show. We see Billie in all-white cothing–much like what you would see a patient of a mental institute would wear–flaunting an eerie smile. Worst of it all, her eyes are whitened–no eye balls. And this seems to be the overall theme of her entire upcoming album.

Billie Eilish spoke about the new album in an interview with Zane Lowe on Beats1 Radio;

“With this album, the main thing we tried to do was have every single song sound completely different than everything else. If you put 14 people who like different genres into a room and plop WHEN WE FALL ASLEEP, WHERE DO WE GO? in front of them, I want every single person in that room to like at least one song.”

Billie Eilish on Beats1 Radio

Full Tracklist of ‘WHEN WE ALL FALL ASLEEP, WHERE DO WE GO?’ Album

  1. !!!!!!!
  2. bad guy
  3. xanny
  4. you should see me in a crown
  5. all the good girls go to hell
  6. wish you were gay
  7. when the party’s over
  8. 8
  9. my strange addiction
  10. bury a friend
  11. ilomilo
  12. listen before i go
  13. i love you
  14. goodbye

No, track #8 is not a typo, the song is really titled “8.” From this 14-track album, we have already heard 3 so far. “you should see me in a crown” and “when the party’s over” were released and made massive waves in 2018.

Buy ‘WHEN WE ALL FALL ASLEEP, WHERE DO WE GO?’ Album on iTunes and Amazon

As bizarre as the song names on this tracklist sound, there is only one song with a positive vibe: “i love you.” But as Billie spoke with Genius before, she has a “yucky” and “gross” feeling about love. So we can expect some kind of twist in those lyrics as well.

“when the party’s over” is a song about how love helps each other when the good days of the life are gone. On the other hand, “you should see me in a crows” speaks about Billie’s superiority. It’s a track about feeling like a boss and being a boss. So, she was not far off when she said that there will be music for all kinds of people in her new album.

Until the release of the album, we can expect a single or two to be released in the coming months. The new album is released through Darkroom and Interscope Records labels, and is expected to release on March 29, 2019. Stay tuned with Justrandomthings for more updates.

How excited are you for ‘WHEN WE ALL FALL ASLEEP, WHERE DO WE GO?’ album and what is your favorite track so far? Leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.